The Research Network on Antisemitism in the 21st Century

The Research Network on Antisemitism in the 21st Century (FoNA21) was founded within the framework of the  Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) funding program Current Dynamics and Challenges of Antisemitism. It is composed of ten collaborative projects and one coordinating project that are dedicated to researching the causes and manifestations of antisemitism in contemporary Germany through a variety of interdisciplinary and methodological perspectives. 

Experiencing Antisemitism in the Third Generation
This interdisciplinary research group investigates whether and to what extent the Third Generation’s experiences of antisemitism reactualize their grandparents’ experiences of persecution.
Antisemitism in the European Classroom
The project investigates how to engage with antisemitism in the classroom and develops digital teaching materials to help prevent antisemitism across a range of disciplines.
Turning Object into Subject
The first phase of the research project investigates the extent to which experiencing or anticipating hostility affects Jews’ religious practice. The second phase facilitates education and training through workshops and online videos.
ASJust - Struggling for Justice
Wie erfasst die Justiz Antisemitismus? Eine systematische Bestandsaufnahme der justiziellen Praxis soll darüber Aufschluss gegeben. Unter Einbeziehung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse der Antisemitismusforschung und Berücksichtigung der Betroffenenperspektive werden Lücken aufgezeigt und Handlungsoptionen mit und für die Justiz entwickelt.
Christian Features of Contemporary Antisemitism
This collaborative project is dedicated to identifying and analyzing Christian elements of antisemitism in its historical and contemporary manifestations. We understand the communication of knowledge in a broad sense, and thus the results of our research will feed back into the scholarly community, schools, and adult education.
EMPATHIA³
EMPATHIA³ focuses on prospective police officers and teachers in confronting antisemitism. This project will develop, evaluate, and implement a core curriculum, a standardized test, and an intervention.
Net Olam
The collaborative project Net Olam conducts comprehensive data collection on the heretofore under-researched attacks on Jewish cemeteries; develops strategies to prevent these attacks; and establishes a network that promotes the communication of research findings and works to protect Jewish cemeteries.
RelcoDiff - Antisemitism in Pedagogical Contexts
The interdisciplinary collaborative project traces religious constructions of difference in children of preschool and elementary school age in order to study and counteract antisemitic attitudes.
RESPOND! NO to Antisemitic Hate Speech Online!
The collaborative project RESPOND! works to provide young people with the tools to speak out against antisemitic hate speech on the German-language web.
Jewish Reactions to Antisemitism
The first phase of the research project investigates the extent to which experiencing or anticipating hostility affects Jews’ religious practice. The second phase facilitates education and training through workshops and online videos.

Forschungsnetzwerk Antisemitismus im 21. Jahrhundert

Das Forschungsnetzwerk Antisemitismus im 21. Jahrhundert (FoNA21) wurde im Rahmen des BMBF-Förderprogramms Aktuelle Dynamiken und Herausforderungen des Antisemitismus gegründet. Es begleitet zehn Verbundprojekte, die sich aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven und Fragestellungen der Erforschung der Ursachen und Hintergründe der gegenwärtigen Erscheinungsformen des Antisemitismus in Deutschland widmen.

Publikationen

  • AE3G: Grünberg, K., Arnold, S., Dierker, L., & Urban, M.: Von der Grenze des Verstehens. Ein Werkstattbericht zum Szenischen Erinnern der Shoah in der Dritten Generation, in: L. Werthmann-Resch, T. Beier, V. Bouville, A. Höche, M. Krummacher, B. Pütz, & T. Siol (Hrsg.), Nachträglichkeit – Deferred action – Après coup, Gießen: Psychosozial 2023, S. S. 320–346 .

  • AE3G: Simon Arnold: In word and deed: A scenic story about guilt in the third generation , in: Ethical Space: International Journal of Communication Ethics, 20(4), 2023, S. https://doi.org/10.21428/0af3f4c0.79d5c0a6 .

  • ASJust: Liz Mathy/Christoph Schuch/Laura Schwarz: Antisemitismus als rechter Abgrund , in: Kritische Justiz (KJ) 2024, Heft 1, S. 138-153, https://doi.org/10.5771/0023-4834-2024-1 .

Alle Publikationen

Antisemitismuserfahrung in der Dritten Generation
Der interdisziplinäre Verbund untersucht, ob und wie heutige Antisemitismuserfahrungen der Dritten Generation die Verfolgungserfahrungen ihrer Großeltern transgenerational re-aktualisieren.
Antisemitismus im europäischen Schulunterricht
Das Projekt erforscht den Umgang mit Antisemitismus im schulischen Unterricht und entwickelt digitale Unterrichtsmaterialien zur fächerübergreifenden Antisemitismusprävention.
Das Objekt zum Subjekt machen
Das Vorhaben begegnet fragmentiertem Wissen über die religiöse und lebensweltliche Praxis des Judentums, indem Aspekte der jüdischen Alltagskultur erforscht und praxisbezogen für den Unterricht und die historisch-politische Bildungsarbeit aufbereitet werden.
ASJust - Struggling for Justice
Wie erfasst die Justiz Antisemitismus? Eine systematische Bestandsaufnahme der justiziellen Praxis soll darüber Aufschluss gegeben. Unter Einbeziehung wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse der Antisemitismusforschung und Berücksichtigung der Betroffenenperspektive werden Lücken aufgezeigt und Handlungsoptionen mit und für die Justiz entwickelt.
Christliche Signaturen des zeitgenössischen Antisemitismus
Das Verbundprojekt widmet sich der Identifizierung und wissenschaftlichen Analyse religiös-christlicher Elemente des Antisemitismus in seinen historischen und gegenwärtigen Erscheinungsformen und vermittelt mit einem breit angelegten Transferkonzept die Forschungsergebnisse in Wissenschaft, Schule und Erwachsenenbildung.
EMPATHIA³
EMPATHIA³ fokussiert angehende Polizei- und Lehrkräfte im Umgang mit Antisemitismus. Es werden ein Kerncurriculum, ein standardisierter Test und eine Intervention entwickelt, evaluiert und implementiert.
Net Olam
Das Verbundvorhaben Net Olam leistet umfassende Datenerhebung zu den bisher wenig erforschten Übergriffen auf jüdische Friedhöfe, erarbeitet Präventionskonzepte und baut ein Netzwerk zu Wissensvermittlung und Schutz auf.
Antisemitismus in pädagogischen Kontexten
Das interdisziplinäre Verbundvorhaben rekonstruiert religiöse Differenzkonstruktionen von Kindern im Vor- und Grundschulalter, um antisemitische Haltungen zu untersuchen und ihnen entgegenzuwirken.
RESPOND! NEIN zu Judenhass im Netz!
Das Verbundprojekt RESPOND! verfolgt das Ziel der Entwicklung und Verbreitung einer nachhaltigen Gegenstimme junger Menschen zur Bekämpfung antisemitischer Hassrede im deutschsprachigen Netz.
Jüdische Reaktionen auf Antisemitismus
Das Forschungsprojekt untersucht in einer ersten Phase, wie sehr erfahrene oder antizipierte Ablehnung Jüdinnen und Juden in ihrer Religionsausübung beeinträchtigt. In einer zweiten Phase geht es um Aufklärung und Weiterbildung in Gestalt von Workshops und Online-Videos.